Pool house on the way to the Bay.
Sara's Home
Dining
Details/Availability
Oasis Email
House Floor plan
Art Studio
 
 
 
 
 
 

Reviews for Sara's Oasis Vacation Rental- 2005-2016

These reviews were posted to HomeAway/VRBO website

Restfull with natural and man-made beauty Taia E. said 5 stars5 stars
March 22-25, 2016

Our March stay was delightful. Depending on which of us you asked, the favorite elements were: The art in the house, the pool, the quiet of the whole area, the many charming areas where the 5 of us could spread out for conversation or quiet reading. Kitchen was very well provisioned with pans, utensils, etc. Sara was very willing to help.
My Response
Thank you for mentioning these things you appreciated about your stay here. I appreciated your respectful care and enjoyment of the property and hope you all return one day. -sara

Really Heavenly Kiki S. 5 stars5 stars

March 25-29, 2016  I came to Sara’s Oasis to get away for a relaxing weekend. I was not disappointed. To start with the house itself is lovely…homey, beautifully decorated with handcrafted furniture, interesting artwork, handmade furniture and cabinetry and antique rugs. Though early in the season here the weather was warm and we spent a number of hours just hanging out in the outdoor hot tub with quick trips to splash in the beautiful pool surrounded with gorgeous landscaping. There were two or three great restaurants we went to, but the Oasis had a beautiful kitchen making eating in easy as well. I spent a wonderful morning exploring the many antique shops and little food markets. The town is quaint and I loved seeing the apple blossoms and vineyards as we drove to and from the Oasis. My only complaint is that I didn’t have more time to spend. The weekend was over way too quickly.

My Response Thank you for your comments! The mention of the many antique shops will be very useful to many guests. Antiquing seems to be a popular pass time in Sonoma County! I'm very happy the pool and garden was relaxing! Come again.

Wonderful home in wine country RG C. said...5 stars5 stars

Oct 26, 2015
501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)
Date of StayOctober 12, 2015  Helpful votes:1/1

Sara's home is beautiful, spacious, clean, quiet, private, well furnished, well appointed and full of works of art, amenities and modern conveniences. The photos shown in Sara's listing depict the home accurately. The pool and spa are both large and really made my stay enjoyable. The environs of the house certainly made me feel relaxed and gave me the feeling of being "away from it all". There are even deer and turkeys that roam the land surrounding the house. The house is also in a very good location as Healdsburg, Dry Creek Valley, Guernsville, Kenwood, and Santa Rosa are all within a 20-30 minute drive. I would suggest visiting Kenwood as it's a wonderful town with fantastic wineries, but rarely mentioned in guidebooks. Unfortunately, I didn't meet Sara, but she was certainly available to help/answer questions via text/email. Her wonderful daughter gave a good tour of the house. Sara also has guidebook for the house itself and the places to go and things to do in the area. Sara also mailed my security check back to me on the day that I checked out. I highly recommend Sara's home and I would certainly seriously consider staying there again on future trips to Sonoma County.

My Response

Thank you! If we are lucky enough to have you return I'll get the chance to meet you, though I appreciate my daughter being a welcoming host! It's very kind of you to let others know you were happy and with what.


Peaceful and  spacious5 stars
jwilliamson said...Sep 27, 2015

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)
Date of Stay September 18, 2015 Helpful votes:0/0

We recently stated at Oasis to visit friends on Sebastopol. The home is beautiful with great living space. Bedrooms are smaller but comfortable. Outside porches are lovely. Pool area is amazing and great entertainment for our 3 4 year olds. We are lots of meals by the pool. I could not recommend the property more highly we had a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Romantic Getaway

My Response

Thank you. Your 4 year olds made the place feel quite happy! –Sara

Paradise for families with young children5 stars

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Former Houseboaters said Aug 13, 2015 Date of Stay August 9, 2015

We came here with our grown children and their family of two boys, 6 and 4 years old and Sara's Oasis proved to be the perfect choice. Plenty of room and comfort for all of us, along with a beautiful, fully equipped chef's kitchen with all the amenities for preparing memorable meals. The adults loved the comfort and beautifully furnished home and the boys couldn't get enough of the swimming pool, which had a shallow end perfect for children of that age, along with a deep end perfect for lap swimming. Great relaxation was also to be found in the hot spa which is solar heated to the perfect temperature. Plenty of pool toys, along with a great shower/changing room really made it perfect for all of us. We will be back next year to enjoy all of this beautiful home again. Can't wait!

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

My Response

Thank you for your review. It helps us and it helps people searching for a place to stay. Sara.

Not your typical barren VRBO5 stars

Hugh W. said Aug 30, 2015 Date of Stay July 1, 201

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

My wife and I rented for the month of July and had a very relaxing vacation with friends and family. This isn't your typical barren VRBO, but a fully furnished home. Sara made us feel welcome. She was attentive, but always in the background. One day the SPA didn't come up to temperature. Even though it was a weekend, she promptly called the pool guy who replaced the thermostat. I like to cook, so appreciated the wolf range and ironclad. However, we spent much of the time by the pool, enjoying the wine-of-the-day and simply relaxing. It is 4 miles from town, just far out enough to be really away from noise yet an easy drive to restaurants and shopping. We hope to return.

My Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. I look forward to seeing photos of some of the many drawings you did of the garden. I'm happy you took advantage of the kitchen and the All Clad pans and Wolf range. Maybe a retirement career as a chef? –Sara

Great Getaway!!!5 stars

Stephanie I said May 16, 2015 Date of Stay March 27, 2015

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

We rented this property for a ladies' getaway weekend to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday and it was absolutely perfect! Our intention was to lounge by a pool in a private, secluded spot surrounded by beauty and nature and that's exactly what we experienced. We made breakfast and lunch at the house and ate out at KnL Bistro in Sebastopol and Willi's Seafood Wine Bar in Healdsburg for dinner. Both were excellent! We spent our evenings playing scrabble and chatting. The house is stocked with lots of books and games and showcases many exquisite and interesting art pieces. Even the furniture and kitchen cabinets are exceptional works of art. We enjoyed listening to the wild turkeys gobble, the neighbor horses whinny, the birds singing; but the true delight was watching a fox prance in the woodsy area out the dining room window along with deer and squirrels. Quite an enchanting place. We would only want to mention that there is a tenant onsite which may be uncomfortable for some but we never saw or heard the person so it was a nonissue. A very BIG plus is the owner lives right down the road and is very responsive to requests or needs. We would highly recommend this vacation rental and in fact will be returning next year.

Recommended for: Girls Getaway 

Berkshire MA 2014 Turkey Holidays5 stars

Tom n Judy said Dec 12, 2014 Date of Stay November 23, 2014

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949

What an unbelievably nice surprise!! We have stayed at between 1 to 2 dozen rentals from VRBO / HomeAway both inside and outside the USA. This is clearly in our top 3. Spacious and exceptionally well-equipped kitchen, living and dining areas, comfortable beds and top shelf linens, ultra clean including modern bathrooms, wonderfully decorated with inspired art work and collectables everywhere, well stocked book shelves, amazing swimming pool and hot tub that we used even at the end of November. Sara is a generous and gracious host who met us upon arrival, tended to our needs when or if asked, was engaging and easy to deal with upon departure after our 7 night stay. This is indeed a very quiet and private oasis, yet close to everything one would want to do in western Sonoma & Russian River wine country. Sebastopol is a charming town with wonderful shops and restaurants, with Santa Rosa just a stone's throw away with even more to offer. The dozen adult turkeys wandering the neighborhood over Thanksgiving was a treat, including the 4Toms with their tails spread in full plumage. fairly priced....well worth the booking.

Elegant and comfortable wine country oasis5 stars

Chris said Nov 12, 2014 Date of Stay November 5, 2014

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

We rented this lovely home near Sebastopol while visiting the area to attend my niece's wedding. Totally well appointed with intriguing art work, full kitchen, nice furniture, big pool, great hot tub - all surrounded by gorgeous, well kept gardens. The owner was helpful, friendly, and respectful of our privacy. Really had a wonderful time and we hope to return sometime!

Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 

Stunning Sebastopol hideaway5 stars

Gerald B. said Oct 6, 2014 Date of Stay September 3, 2014

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

If you're looking for a countryside hideout with all the trimmings & more well this is the ideal place to stay. This house is quite simply beautiful. It has everything you'd wish for, is tastefully decorated, has a really relaxed & roomy feel to it and is surrounded by beautiful trees & woodlands. The swimming pool & spa area is fantastic and as the temperatures got into the 90's during our stay we used it a lot! Finally, what a wonderful host Sara is. We arrived quite late in the evening after the long flight from Ireland and she went out of her way to help us settle in - even driving off to the local store to pick up some groceries. Hopefully, we'll be back to visit in the future!

Peaceful, Artistic, Beautiful5 stars

Barry said…Aug 25, 2014 Date of Stay August 15, 2014

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

In all the years we have been renting homes around the world, rarely have we found one with this combination of beauty, art, and conveniences. The home is on a peaceful lane outside Sebastopol. Close enough for easy drives to restaurants, shops, and the coast. But tucked away in a wooded notch surrounded by flowers and fragrant plants so you can swim, cook, read or watch stars (when the cool fog isn't here). One of the most unique features is the art: on the walls, in the sculptures or the fabulous handmade furniture. The beds are very comfortable. The salt-water solar-heated pool is a dream. The kitchen is well-stocked. There are books of all types. And games. Pictures and descriptions don't really do this home justice. They certainly can't give you a sense of the smells. There are plant-protected nooks of all kinds. We were totally blown away and came back completely relaxed and dreaming of the time we can return.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway 

A treasure in Sebastopol! 5 stars

Susan R. said July 28, 2014 Date of Stay July 8, 2014

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Susan R   July 28, 2014

This is a fantastic property and vacation spot "away-from-it-all". We have stayed here twice! Sara is a wonderful host, the home is lovely and extremely well appointed, the location is perfect for just relaxing as well as exploring Sonoma and environs. We always look forward to going to Sara's Oasis...and we always hate to leave! It is a very special place.....

A True Oasis 5 stars

Mike F. said May 8, 2014 Date of Stay May 2, 2014

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

My family and I have rented a number of homes throughout California but Sara's Oasis shoots to the top of the list as one we'll definitely rent again. The pool and spa are great and the kids loved it, but the true charm of Sara's Oasis comes from the beautiful landscaping and wildlife and I would be remiss if I didn't mention the stunning custom furniture. My daughters got a huge kick out of the wild turkeys whereas being a woodworker I loved the one of a kind furniture pieces. Sara herself helped immensely with local recommendations for both food and activities. She also provided a book with numerous activity recommendations for all ages. A side note, if you're in town there is a little music shop on Main Street called Peoples Music - stop in! The kids enjoyed the variety of instruments - some I've never seen before - and I saw for the first time in a shop a Portuguese Guitar. They've had it for 15 years and had never heard it played. I was happy to play a waltz and a fado minor for them which they got a kick out of. Good people there. Back to the Oasis...don't think about it anymore, this IS the place for you if you're looking for a quiet home not far from wineries, hiking trails (I can recommend Armstrong Redwoods Park), and some great places to enjoy fine cuisine. Relax by the pool Relax in the spa Enjoy Sara's Oasis... We did and will again soon. Thanks Sara, The Farleys

Richard W. said...Apr 23, 2014

What a wonderful welcoming house and host. It truly is an oasis just over an house from the city.5 stars

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Date of Stay April 15, 2014 Helpful votes:1/1

Our visit saw a number of expectations exceeded. The house was very comfortable and well provisioned. The cooking equipment was far superior to what is normally seen in a vacation rental, and it provided us everything we needed to cook almost all of our meals at home. The pool area was fantastic and a lovely spot to sit during the day. We had lunch down there too, which was perfect. The bedrooms, living room, kitchen and dining area were all as good or better than expected. With a three year old we were very happy to see that the pool area was completely fenced off, so an adventurous toddler could not into trouble. The price is very reasonable compared to similar properties we have visited, particularly in the area. One of the highlights is the ability to venture out and see a lot of what Somona County has to offer: Jenner – the harbor seals are a highlight for the kids, and we were lucky enough to see a pod of grey whales playing just off the river’s mouth, literally 50 yards offshore. Bodega Bay – we ran into a cold and very windy day, so beach time was limited, but I know it can be lots of fun in summer Florence Street – the street sculptures are always worth a visit and our three year old loved them Littorai (Winery) – wonderful intimate tasting and tour of the bio-dynamic winery and gardens. Well worth a visit and delicious wines (pinot and chardonnay). Minutes away from the house. Joseph Phelps (Winery) – very pleasant tasting, although reasonably run-of-the-mill in structure. Delicious chardonnays from the area. Right next to Wild Flour Wild Flour (balery in Freestone) – only open Fri-Mon, but we went every day we could. My parents loved the coffee, and we all loved the breads and scones, and sitting in the wonderful garden out the back. River’s Edge (restaurant in Jenner) – great view, wonderful service and tasty lunch. Brilliant with the kids too We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway

A Great Place to Stay in the West Sebastopol Hills5 stars

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Charles b. said Jan 30, 2014

Date of Stay January 17, 2014

4 of us stayed at Sara's Oasis from 17 Jan to 24 Jan 2014. We found the house and grounds beautiful and very comfortable. Everything about the property was as-advertised and, while accurate, the photos did not do it justice. As the property description notes there is custom crafted furniture and art throughout the home. The kitchen is very complete with a Wolf cooktop and high quality cookware, very unusual in a rental. Our trip was focused around food and wine and the property location gave us easy access to the north and west Sonoma County wineries. There are many excellent restaurants (from Michelin * level on down) within a 30 minute drive of the property. The owner was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and local attractions but did not intrude. Our stay was spiced up by the local wildlife consisting of deer behind the house in the morning and wild turkeys meandering about the property during the day; at dusk the turkeys display their flying ability and roost in the trees. Since we were there in the winter we did not use the pool but the entire pool/spa/poolhouse setup looked wonderful for warmer weather. The wraparound deck along the front of the house makes for a wonderful place to sit at sunset. This is one of the best rentals I have ever utilized and I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway 

Sara's Oasis is trully an elegant oasis!5 stars

Former Houseboaters said…Sept 18, 2013

Date of Stay September 11, 2013

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

From the moment we parked in front of the house we were in awe. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with many different kinds of trees, bushes, and flowers. The herb garden had a nice selection of fresh herbs that gave us inspiration for the meals we would be preparing during our stay. A nicely designed pool and surrounding area had all the amenities one could ask for with nice teak furniture, umbrellas, and Weber BBQ. The pool is large enough for lap swimming and the changing room had everything one would need while using the pool area. Once inside the home we were taken back by all the beautiful artwork on the walls, and the unique design features and artistic touches that were everywhere. Beautiful exotic wood furnishings were everywhere we looked, from the sofas to the dining room table, chairs and kitchen woodwork. Even the baseboards and door jams had exotic wood inlays! One of the nicest touches inside were the fresh flowers that were in every room, including the bathrooms. We felt really at home with all the personal touches Sara included. Everyone in our party likes to cook and we were looking forward to using the beautiful kitchen. This is a cook's kitchen with all the utensils one could ask for. The minute we fired up the gas Wolf cook top and put one of the Alclad LTD saute pans on it we know we would get the cooking results we were used to. Everything is in this kitchen to make food prep a breeze. Lots of spices, herbs, and cooking oils are already there for use. We also really enjoyed the front patio, listening to the birds while enjoying morning coffee. No noise here, just the sounds of nature that provide a real solitude. At the end of the day the super comfortable beds and linens really helped to ease our tired muscles after a day of hiking in Armstrong Woods and wine tasting. We would come back to rent this house again in a heartbeat as everything we needed and wanted in a vacation house is here-in spades! Sara was a warm and gracious host and made sure we had everything we needed, answered all our questions and had a genuine interest in our stay being as enjoyable as possible. We will be back!!

Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway 

Peaceful and relaxing!5 stars

Lori, David, Kathryn & Elizabeth said June 18, 2013

Date of Stay June 8, 2013

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

My husband, two adult daughters and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Sebastopol. The property was perfectly located to enjoy the numerous wineries as well as the Russian River and the coast. We did it all! The house had every amenity we needed along with being quiet, peaceful and private. Sara, the owner, as well as a property caretaker were easily accessible in the event we needed anything or had any questions. We appreciated that it was so immaculate and clean. The beds were like clouds, so we all slept well. The kitchen was well-equipped. And at the end of each day we would spend quiet time by the pool and spa. We grilled, swam and enjoyed wine from our daily excursions. We can highly recommend Marimar Vineyards and Schug Carneros Winery. Korbel had a delicious deli on site and offered free tours and tastings. Dry River Vineyard was delicious and has beautiful grounds for picnicking. The Dry River General Store directly across the street from the vineyard offered a large variety of take-out lunch options to purchase. We all returned home happy, rested and relaxed!

Delightful value.pool.spa.wineries

No Rating

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Our stay at Sara's Oasis was a great value! We felt very welcome and would recommend it 100% . We spent one entire day of our 3 day vacation lounging at Sara's beautiful pool, spa and garden. We enjoyed Sonoma County wine tasting, and took some walks. Particularly delightful was our lunch at Lynmar winery and our morning trips to nearby Wild Flour bakery for breakfast breads and coffee. Just to be unbiased, there were a lot of leaves in the grill on the back deck which we quickly brushed aside

Georgians Expectations exceeded!

No Rating

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Date of Stay January 1, 2013

We felt welcomed and comfortable. Our expectations were exceeded. The accommodations were beautiful and tastefully done. Everything we needed was at our fingertips. The house and property were clean, safe, comfortable, pleasant and aesthetically pleasing. Things we would never change were the comfy bedding, the good books and maps, or providing the spices, detergents, sponges, etc. That was very thoughtful. Possible changes we might make would be change using PayPal. Check out ‘Square’ which works with all Apples and you are charged by the transaction. Also, should be advertised as 2 baths with a pool house bath. We kept looking for a 3rd bath. While we were here we mostly visited with our family and grandson. But we recommend Hop Kiln winery and Porter Creek winery. Both close and delightful. We were attracted to this area of the world by our family, the beach, landscape and wineries. All six of us had a wonderful visit in your home. It was truly a treat. The artful woodwork was beautiful!

Anne-Marie said...

Oct 26, 2012

Serene beautiful home lovely garden

No Rating

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Date of Stay October 22, 2012

This serene and beautiful home is nestled in a quiet neighborhood with lovely gardens. It is very comfotable with aesthetic touches throughout. The artist owner made us feel welcomed and keeps the property pristine.The kitchen is very well appointed for the chef. Nearby Bill's Farm Market seemed to have anything we overlooked and we found several nice cafe eateries in the nearby little town of Graton. Oenophiles should take note, you are in good company here surrounded by the vineyard wineries of Paul Hobbs and Merry Edwards. We look forward to returning!

Oct 26, 2012 Jacquie R said...

Would return in a heartbeat, wineries, coast, sun

No Rating

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Date of Stay September 18, 2012

We really could do with coming right back, though the weather here in Canada is unusually nice for this time of year! We had a lovely nine days at Sara's Oasis and would come again in a heartbeat. Stephen and I agreed that the way to go is to do the tourist thing in the morning or early part of the day then go and load up on food and wine and go back to the house and stay in for the evening. Just relaxing, no phones or that stuff, read a book, cook a great meal and drink some amazing wine, why would we go out?! We went to visit the Tourist/Chamber of Commerce office in Sebastopol, the lady was extremely helpful. We were given coupons for wineries in the area, information on zip lining in the Redwoods and maps for the local area. Before we arrived we booked for the Napa Wine Train, bit of a drive but well worth the effort. We liked the idea of being in a small town, close to the wineries and not far from the coast. We had a couple of trips to Bodega Bay as well as visiting wineries around Sebastopol. One negative was the sound of the well pump when the watering system went on in the morning. If there are any additional comments you could find useful for your website I am happy to provide them.

Terry B. said...

Apr 13, 2013

August getaway 5 stars

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Date of Stay July 25, 2012 Helpful votes:2/2

We felt very welcome. The owner took the time to welcome us and gave us plenty of information on the local area. The home and the atmosphere were much better than we could have imagined. All of the various amenities offered were excellent! The kitchen was fantastic and very user friendly. The pool, hot tub and bath house were probably the part that we enjoyed the most. We used the pool area and the grill every evening. Sara was patient in teaching us how to use everything (grill, pool cover, spa, appliances). The property was very clean, safe, pleasant and extremely comfortable. We really appreciated all of the artistic touches throughout the home and property. Obviously there was a lot of thought put into the design of the home. Everyone agreed it was an ideal place to spend our vacation. We all would recommend it to others, but would prefer not to in order to cut the competition! The cost was fair and comparable to other places. We were able to share the cost between 3 couples so it cost the same as a hotel, but with much better amenities. For approximately the same cost as a hotel we had our own private pool area, a fully functional kitchen, laundry facilities, a living room and use of a charcoal grill.

My Response

Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to review your experience at the house. I really appreciate it and other guests will too.

Justin B. said...Jun 12, 2012

Very welcoming

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)Date of Stay
May 23, 2012
Helpful votes:2/2

The owner did a great job working with us. We had our wedding in the area so we used the home as a home base for meeting up and visiting with family. I kept her in the loop so there were no surprises and she was very accommodating to our needs for the week. Wish I had some more time to relax out there- the pool set up is great! House has a great view in the front and plenty of open space to visit with family. Description was accurate- very clean house and comfortable. Sebastopol is a very cool town just be sure you have everything you need before 8:30pm when it shuts down!

My Response

Thank you so much for your comments. Your family was a pleasure to have visit and your helpful communications made every thing so easy. You are welcome to return any time. Sebastopol is a quiet town, that's for sure, ah, it's the country air.

Sara's Oasis5 stars

br g. said...Mar 17, 2012
501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)
Date of Stay January 27, 2012Helpful votes:2/2

Tranquil experience. Just a short drive to delish restaurants and bakeries. Great for a weekend retreat. Very comfortable with custom crafted furniture, art and sculture, pool & hot tub, and beautifully landscaped.

Sara's beautiful home is truly an Oasis5 stars

Fussy Travelers said…June 1, 2010

Date of Stay May 22, 2010

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

The photos of Sara's Oasis don't do the home and property justice. The home and grounds were delightful. It's located about 4 miles from Sebastopol's town center, tucked at the end of a narrow road where the cars often compete with wild turkeys. Each of the rooms is a comfortable size. The kitchen is filled with up-to-date appliances. The furniture is hand-made by a designer and is absolutely stunning. The gardens (I'm an amateur gardener so appreciate other peoples' gardens) are gorgeous and well thought out. The pool, built-in hot tub and pool house (complete with an outdoor ping-pong table) are stunning. We have rented houses many times before and are fussy about what we rent. What perhaps surprised me most was some of the "little things" that made it really special: fresh flowers in vases all over the house including bathrooms; the high quality linens and towels; the kitchen with a full compliment of utensils; the amazing furniture; the privacy of the home and how quiet it is; the stock of firewood for use in a wood-burning stove in the main house, and pool fire pit; and the comfortable beds. She has two grills at the renter's disposal -- one by the pool and one on the deck. It was pristine in terms of cleanliness. The owner was nice and available if we needed her. We biked, hiked, ate ourselves silly in the many good restaurants, went to the ocean which is only 15 minutes away, and visited the wineries. There's no question in my mind that anyone would enjoy Sara's Oasis.

Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 

Peaceful escape in California5 stars

Thagr8stonesgrl said April 15, 2010
Date of Stay April 2, 2010

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

We stayed in this property at the beginning of April. I describe this location as a peaceful escape as it is about 45 miles from San Francisco in a very small, cute town. It is so quiet & pretty there! The house was very clean & the property was absolutely beautiful! There was a fully equipped kitchen, plenty of space, & 2 decks that lead out of the house. SOOO pretty! It was nice to sit outside on the deck with our friends. The flowers that are planted are so pretty that we took pictures of each & every one of them! This property does come with a large, very clean pool. She was nice enough to have this open for us even though it was too cold outside. However, it was amazing to sit in the hot tub in the evening & look at all the pretty stars. My husband & I went with our child & another family, but are looking forward to going back just the two of us for some quality alone time! We would definitely recommend this property to stay at!

Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway 

Tranquil instant nest5 stars

NorCal Homing Pigeon said…Dec 10, 2009

Date of Stay November 28, 2009

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Originally planned as base camp for a real estate survey of western Sonoma Country for my mother and I, I wound up staying here with my best friend for three days over the Thanksgiving weekend, 2009. It was the perfect decompression after packing myself to move back from overseas. The house was instantly comfortable, and while I tend toward the Pottery Barn aesthetic, what stuck with me was the sense of a house fleshed with items that were lovingly assembled by someone with an eye for enduring comfort and well developed personal aesthetic. An aesthetic that I took to immediately. It's open, airy, warm, and connected to the site it sits on. The art pieces were a lovely splash of interest. The beds were amazingly comfortable (I am normally ridiculously picky about linens and pillows - no problem here), the kitchen was well laid out and equipped for far more than we needed, and we had a fabulously relaxing soak in the poolside spa despite temps in the 40s the weekend we were there. The landscaping and overall siting of pool/spa/poolhouse suspend you in a lovely green bower. I'm looking forward to retreating here in the spring when things warm up a bit. We were greeted by the local wildlife too - quail and turkeys haunt the hill behind the house, along with a complement of song birds and cheeky squirrels who hang outside the big windows. Location is slightly remote from the more concentrated winery areas, but you're surrounded by beautiful rolling country, with orchards, farms, and an eclectic collection of old towns to explore (Freestone, Graton, Occidental). There's a great farm market at the bottom of the hill. Remote is relative - you're only 10 minutes from Sebastopol - which is full of the high end services you might want to tap while on vacation (high end chain grocery store, antique stores, day spas). Yuppy treats are within easy driving distance. We fell in love with one of the local brew pubs and yet were quickly able to get to Healdsburg and its surrounding wineries for tastings. I'm looking to have my mom retire in the area - so I'm already partial to the setting. But this was a perfect way to get comfortable as a 'local' and get to know the area. I'll be back with friends again for a group get away as soon as I can get 'em organized.

Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+ 

Helpful votes:12/1 A horrible experience 1 star

Neveragain32 said Nov 18, 2009 Dates of stay July 10- August 10, 2009
501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Listen to sound advice: avoid, avoid, avoid. We stayed there Jul 10 - Aug 10 trying to relax. No luck! It was a bad surprise from day one and an increasing headache as the month progressed. I should have asked for my money back. The pictures and listing description are inaccurate. This is not an “elegant” property conditioned to receive guests. This so-called "vacation house" is actually the permanent abode of an unhelpful individual that moves to a small shack within the property while you stay and makes sure to keep an eye on the facilities (and you) on a daily basis. I'm regularly hands-off, but this must be known. If you want a “beautiful”, “artful”, and “relaxing” place to stay, this is certainly not it. Even when unoccupied, the property feels crowded with someone else’s old stuff. It’s chock-full of old dusty books, mediocre artsy stuff and worn-out, suspicious-looking "oriental" rugs that you feel queasy walking on barefooted. Worse, be ready to be reminded not to touch this or that, because it “used to belong to the owner’s grandmother”. It does have a nice pool, but you'll be told to pick up all your stuff every day and not leave anything inside or around it. Also, hope that your understanding of “comfortable temperature” matches that of the owner, who will not even discuss allowing it to go a degree higher than she believes is reasonable. Be ready to be in the water while strangers walk in and dump large bags of chemical salt without asking you to come out (let alone ask for an appointment to do so). Be ready to be told “not to bother the bees”, literally dozens of them flying about and getting on your food, because they “are just minding their business”. And be ready to be told that if you want any help with the frightening-looking yellow-jacket wasps, you should find where the wasp nest is and inform the owner. I could go on and on, but strict posting guidelines and space are limiting. Plus I believe you get the idea. A word about location; do your homework (I obviously didn’t). Sebastopol is far away from true wine country. Sonoma and Napa are 90 minutes away. Sebastopol is a sleepy town with no tourist value whatsoever. And San Francisco is a couple of hours away (traffic is bad). No shopping for miles around. If you're still up for it, a final word of advice. Check the rental contract with your attorney to avoid any unpleasant last-minute surprises.

My Response

These guests broke their rental agreement in several ways. They smoked cigars and cigarettes in the house for a month. To clean up the smoke damage cost over $800. They left behind more than 750 gallons of leaking garbage which they stuffed into a closet in the house, and threw on the road leading off the property, though garbage containers are located inside and outside the house. Though dangerous and prohibited by the rental agreement the family took china and glassware to the pool where they allowed their young children to play in the pool with GLASS, this despite a complete selection of plastic ware, including wine glasses and toys available for use poolside. The pool is heated to 82+ degrees, and the automatic pool cover is closed at night to maintain the heat and to keep deer, foxes and other animals out. The guests refused to remove items from the pool thus preventing security personnel from closing the pool at night. The "chemical" poured into the pool was a bag of table salt, used to maintain a healthy and sanitary environment in the pool, in lieu of liquid chlorine. The pool service company cleans and maintains the pool but these people did not want to leave the pool for the 30 minute weekly maintenance period, and TOLD the maintenance people to add the salt while they were in the pool. Most troubling was that they allowed their own young children and two extra unregistered guests to play in the pool unattended by any adult, which is forbidden by our insurance and their contract. The rest of this man’s complaints are his opinion, and not shared by any other guests who have stayed here. One example is saying that we are not located in "true wine country". This is simply not the case; we are right in the middle of the Green Valley and Russian River appellation, famed for pinot and chardonnay. There are scores of wineries within minutes of the property. This is a rural retreat area, located in the middle of a rolling green tree studded agricultural landscape twelve minutes from the gorgeous Pacific Ocean, and thirty minutes from Healdsburg, not a suburb, which was perhaps what this family was seeking. Yes, they were misplaced, and for that we are sorry. As the man mentions in his review, he stayed for over a month. He was welcome to leave with his money returned, but he chose not to. His poor review is the result of his anger at being charged only part of what it cost to clean up the mess he left behind.


Fabulous Vacation at Sara's Oasis5 stars

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

July 10, 2009 Date of Stay July 1, 2009 Helpful votes:3/3

My husband and I and our good friends just returned from a wonderful week at Sara's Oasis. In reading the reviews and looking at the pictures before we left we had high expectations. Upon first arrival and our look around the house and the grounds I told Sara that this house is actually more beautiful than the pictures! The grounds around the pool and the gardens are indescribably lovely. The beds are very comfortable and the gourmet kitchen fully stocked. We shopped for seafood at Bodega Bay and cooked some wonderful seafood at the house. We love to go to wineries and spent several days at the many local wineries within driving distance. The highlight of the trip however was canoeing down the Russian River which is only about a 20 minute drive. The house is centrally located in the county which makes it easy to get to many communities in the area for restaurants and sight seeing. Thanks Sara for the wonderful week and we plan to return soon!

Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway 
Wonderful Sebastapol house5 stars

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Date of Stay May 4, 2009 Helpful votes:1/1

Georgiana and Ted said…May 12, 2009

This beautiful home was a perfect base for experiencing the West County of Sonoma. Three couples shared this house and we all felt it was perfect. The grounds were spectacular and the pool and spa tub only added to our comfort. Sara was a great hostess and provided some goods tips on dining and wineries. This is a great area of California and not as overexposed as Sonoma and Napa. You can access the coast and the interior wine regions easily from the house. We would most certainly return and recommend it to others. Georgiana and Ted Erie, Pa.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 

Colorado Caro said...

Nov 9, 2008

Sara's Oasis Really Is an Oasis5 stars

Colorado Caro said, Nov 9, 2008
501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Date of Stay October 17, 2008 Helpful votes:3/4

Located in the country outside of Sebastopol, it's close to civilization but feels very remote. From the flock of wild turkeys that scurries across the road as you arrive, to the fog that creeps over the ridge in the morning and makes everything quiet, this is a spot you will remember. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated and the mattresses are good. The artwork lavished on the walls is eclectic and interesting and colorful. It's well maintained and feels luxurious. If you are looking for a restful environment, just go hang out by the pool in the afternoon. The flowers are abundant and covered with happy bees. And in the evening there's a restful hot tub that waits for you to come home from a long walk on the beach. Great restaurants are only a few minutes away in Sonoma or Healdsburg, if you haven't filled up on barbequed oysters at the shore. All in all, I found this a great place to spend a weekend - or much longer if you're looking for a hideaway where you can write a book. I'd recommend a stay here to anyone looking for peace and quiet.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway 

Best Holiday home5 stars

Montvale crew Sept 3, 2008
501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

Date of Stay August 23, 2008 Helpful votes:4/5

Our family of 6 (mom, dad and children aged 11, 9, 9 and 7 stayed for almost a week in Sara's oasis. And an oasis it is. We completely recovered from the every day stress. The house itself is lovely. Good furniture, great beds, beautifully decorated and very clean. The pool and spa are hard to beat. We bought the local foods and prepared our meals in the well equipped kitchen. We visited the beaches nearby and saw some of the surrounding villages. If we ever stay in the area again, we will definitely choose Sara's house.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway 

            JamesT said...Jun 26, 2008

Ultimate relaxation5 stars

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)
Date of StayJune 22, 2008Helpful votes:4/5

My wife, 11 month old son and myself spent 3 blissful days at this property. We enjoyed every minute either swimming in the huge pool/sitting in the hot tub or just lounging around the house. The livingroom provides expansive views. We slept in the first bedroom (there are 3) which had a very comfortable bed with soft linens. There are board games and books galore to occupy your mind. For those with babies/toddlers, a high chair and pac-n-play is provided. The location is ideal in that it's about 30 minutes to the ocean, Bodega, and 5 minutes to town, Sebastopol. Next time we'll explore all the wineries that are closeby. We felt like we were at home albeit a much nicer, spacious home. We'll definitely come back for the peace and relaxation.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

My Response

These were ideal guests! They took the long route to the ocean. You can get there within 15 minutes if you go via the highway, but the view is so much nicer through Occidental and then via Coleman Valley past the sheep ranches.


Halcyon Yarn said...Apr 29, 2008

Gourmet kitchen, hot tub under stars, hospitality5 stars

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)Date of Stay
March 30, 2008
Helpful votes:7/8

Our stay here was really pleasant! We're from Maine, and we came for the warmth, the wine and some sightseeing in San Francisco . We enjoyed the hot tub under the stars, and we visited several nearby wineries, ate out, but also enjoyed cooking our fresh fish in the gourmet kitchen! My husband and I plan to return! The owner guided us to some great places to buy fresh seafood out at the beach.

Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers

My Response

These travelers knew how to enjoy themselves. They were excellent guests.


Lisa Julianna April 29, 2008

Impeccably clean, art everywhere, luxurious pool5 stars

501 Sandretto Dr, Sebastopol, CA, 95472, United States (187949)

I and my 14 year old daughter stayed here and it was welcoming and relaxing, impeccably clean with art everywhere. We also stayed in Napa at Silverado, and I found this to be more welcoming and certainly as comfortable. The owner's suggestions helped us enjoy ourselves in this new environment. We mainly lounged at the pool and ate at several great restaurants nearby--one in Occidental was my favorite. I also enjoyed the beautiful drive over the Coleman Valley Road to the beach. My daughter enjoyed a horseback ride at the beach. I was here for a business meeting in SF and the short drive up here made the trip for usl
Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 

Details of your visit.

Request Information On Line
Call for information: 707 829-3515
email: retreat@sarasoasis.com

Availability Calendar 2016

Rates:  April 15 to October 16, 2016 & Holidays
$500 per week end night • 2 night minimum.
$400 mid-week •(Mon-Thur) 2 night minimum
$340 for extra day with weekend stay
$2200 per week
$4200 2 weeks
3 weeks $6000
one month $7600
discounts available for longer stays


October 17 to April 87, 2016

$405 per week end night • 2 night minimum
$330. mid-week (Mon-Thur)• 2 night min.
$270. for extra day with weekend stay
$1800. 1 week
$3200  2 weeks
$5000 3 weeks
$6000 one month
$4800 per mo for 2 + months + weekly housekeeping fee of $130


Pets We are not able to accomodate pets.

Pool side bath: completely tiled with separate toilet room, large shower and separate changing room with large benches.

40' x 20' heated (mid-April to mid-Oct) swimming pool and 6' x 6' in ground spa (all year round).

We can assist you in arranging for a masseuse, or suggest several nearby spas to you.

Other ammenities:

Hair dryer, pool towels and toys (noodles, water canons, ball, pingpong table, book collection, board and card games, table tennis, binoculars for bird watching, basic cable TV, DVD & VCR player, ipod speaker player, wireless high speed internet, CD player, ipod dock. Large gourmet kitchen and pantry, Wolf gas cooktop, electric builtin oven, quiet dishwasher, mixer, blender, baking pans and plenty of pots and pans, utensils, china and stainless ware.

We provide laundry detergent, paper towels, TP, handsoap, fresh kitchen sponge, assortment of spices

Home Property Map To Do Dining ContactOwner Art Studio

For More Information • Informacion Informationen Pourquoi PayPal?Informazioni

Sara's Oasis living room, fireplace, window to deck, art everywhere
Sara's Oasis livingroom, fireplace, hallway to bedrooms
SarasOasis kitchen view
Gourmet kitchen, Honduran Mahogany handmade cabinetry, irridescen granite counters, wolf range
sarasOasis.house.pool
Large heated pool and spa (20'x40' house in background
Sara's Oasis living area

Living room, handcrafted furniture,